Celebrating World Down Syndrome Day and Baby Kick Day!

rrheader

Happy Spring Equinox friends and Happy World Down Syndrome Day!  Today we get to celebrate all the beautiful people with DS and help the children who need loving homes get adopted.  Aaaand, last night- I felt our little lime sized cutie wiggle!  I couldn’t believe it!  I was putting goggle girl down to sleepies and I felt a thumpy type of flutter which could only be one thing- a baby moving! Somehow feeling your child move just makes it so so real.  Not to mention eased my worry button.  Anyway, enough here.

Before I met my husband and before I was a Catholic, I went down to Chile to work with refugees.  I was so blessed by this trip.  In so many ways it opened my eyes to who I needed to be in the world.  One amazing thing I noticed about Chile was that I saw people with Down Syndrome a lot.  Much more than we see here at home.  When I got home and became a pro-life person and able to see God’s perfect beauty in all people, I realized that there is a culture of life in Chile.  They do not abort their DS babies there like so many have here.  There was even a television reality show about people with DS.  This to me was shocking.  We America, have a long way to go.  So today, we celebrate life, in all forms and functions. That it has it’s own intrinsic value.  And as our Declaration of Independence states:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.-

I recently became a prayer warrior for one amazing child at Reece’s Rainbow who desperately needs a loving family.  Maybe you can too.  Here’s a brilliant video they put together- you may need a tissue.  They are celebrating 21 Days of Hope where so much of these kids’ adoption grants are raised.  If you have any ability to donate to these kids I just know you will be rewarded in heaven and on earth. (edited- I apoligize I cannot figure out how to put up the video image here, my host isn’t working with me today, but you won’t regret clicking!)

And for some down home, real life adventures with a gorgeous little girl called Moxie with DS, just head on over to Meriah’s place.

May all the blessings God brings us be yours this Spring.

I would love to hear from you too!

