On being a Catholic Nomad – Again.

My husband and I converted together 3 years ago.  We decided to become Catholic Missionaries for FOCUS immediately following. -Which meant that we were to become parish nomads- not an easy feat when you are trying to raise money to support your entire mission, but we were ON FIRE for the Lord.  So, to the life of a Catholic Gypsy we went. 

Most recently we were living in Boulder, Colorado, incidently where we met, fell in love and came into the Church.  So we were part of our “home” parish St. Thomas Acquinas.  We were very happy to be part of our parish community after 2 years of bouncing around the country with mission work and school.  Only, we didn’t find a real “home” here, other than that Amazing mystery known as Jesus Christ in the Eucharist.  He was and is there for us.  -Let me not be remiss in saying so.  And- St. Thomas is blessed with our friend and awesome priest Fr. Peter Mussett.  We also were blessed w. a new priest, totally awesome guy, Fr. John Nepil- maybe you heard of him, he’s the mountain top priest.  Good stuff. 

So, now we are back in Texas, north Houston to be specific where we actually started our mission 3 years ago.  My husband and I are the traditional mass types, we wish the whole thing would be in Latin.  Can’t have it all I guess. 

Today I am faced with a new parish, for the 3rd week, new confessors, new priests, new parishioners.  What would our beloved Apostles do and say?  Well, I found a Psalm that you may know: 

The Traveler’s Psalm:

Psalm 121

I lift my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot slip – he who watches over you will not slumber:

indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord watches over you – the Lord is your shade at your right hand.

the Sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night

The Lord will keep you from all harm – he will watch over your life;

the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

 As long as the Lord is at my side, and when I can remember that He is, we will endure.

4 thoughts on “On being a Catholic Nomad – Again.

  1. Tim Higgins says:

    My prayers and wishes go out to you all. You are to praised for your wonderful work. Pray for me as I make my journey into the church.

    • Thank you so much Tim. Jeff and I are soooo very happy for you that you are coming into the Church! What an amazing blessing- and answer to our prayers. God is so good. We will continue our prayers for you and your wife.

      It’s always interesting finding a new church. We will be finding many this year in our journey thru the Air Force Reserves training here in TX and back home in Colorado. 🙂 God bless you Tim, I genuinely hope we get to meet up when we are all back in Colorado.
      -Victoria. 🙂

  2. You are the first “other” Catholic nomad I have found! I look forward to exploring your blog. God bless you!

I would love to hear from you too!

